This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
EPS Historic Sites - Physics faculty of the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität

On the 6th of May, the Ludwig Maximilian University Munich (LMU) has been named a “Historic Site” by the European Physical Society (EPS). After the Physikalisch Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB) in Berlin in 2013, LMU is the second German institution to receive this honour.

As mentioned on the commemorative plaque, which is mounted on a boulder of granite in the courtyard of the LMU, its Physics Faculty has been distinguished because here, “at the beginning of the twentieth century, pioneers of modern theoretical and experimental physics taught and performed scientific research”. “Ludwig Boltzmann, Wilhelm Wien, Max Planck, Arnold Sommerfeld, Werner Heisenberg, Wolfgang Pauli and Karl Schwarzschild laid foundations of statistical mechan- ics, thermodynamics, atomic physics, quantum mechanics and the theory of relativity. Through their invention and application of X-rays,Wilhelm Conrad Roentgen and Max von Laue revolu- tionized medical diagnostics and the analysis of atomic structures in physics, chemistry and biology.”

The award ceremony took place in the faculty’s historic lecture hall, where Arnold Sommerfeld held his lectures in front of students like Heisenberg and Pauli. Welcome ad- dresses were delivered by Ralf Bender, dean of the faculty for physics, Bernd Huber, president of LMU and Siegfried Bethke, representing the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG). Christophe Rossel, president of the EPS, praised the mentioned scientists for their fundamental contributions and em- phasised the importance of appreciating historical achievements for future developments in science and society. In his enjoyable speech, Axel Schenzle, who presided as dean over the faculty for many years, out- lined the history of physical research in Munich. He also included scientists who are not mentioned on the plaque explicitly but were of importance at various times. His anecdotes and side remarks not only made us smile, they also inspired further reflections upon science and those who perform it.

More information



pioneers of modern theoretical and experimental physics taught and performed scientific research.

S. Bethke (DPG), C. Rossel (EPS, President), R. Bender (LMU, Dean), B. Huber (LMU, President), A. Schenzle (LMU, previous dean).

In the back you see the old lecture hall, where A. Sommerfeld lectured in front of his students like Heisenberg and Pauli.


Back to the list of EPS Historic Sites
Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice