Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
EPS Historic Sites - Ada storage ring

On Thursday 5 December 2013, the INFN (Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare – Italian National Institute of Nuclear Physics) Frascati National Laboratory (LNF) was honoured as a new EPS Historic Site for the realization of AdA (Anello di Accumulazione – Storage Ring), the first ever particle-antiparticle collider. There, in 1961, AdA was built by a small team of Italian physicists under the lead of the Austrian physicist Bruno Touschek.

AdA was designed to store beams of 250 MeV energy. By 1962 it had stored electrons, and it was soon transferred from Frascati to Orsay at the Linear Accelerator Laboratory (LAL), where a more intense electron beam was available to feed it. Towards the end of 1963, AdA’s first electron-positron collisions were recorded. Then, the machine was operated a few more years for further successful and decisive tests before dismantling. AdA was never used to collect physics data. Instead, it was a testing ground for a breed of machines that was to change the course of particle physics in the following decades.

The ceremony, chaired by LNF Director, Umberto Dosselli, took place in the presence of Stefano Di Tommaso, Mayor of Frascati, and Guido Fabiani, Councillor for Economic Development of Lazio Region. During the ceremony, Giorgio Salvini, LNF Director in 1961 and former Minister of University and Research in Italy at the end of last century, and Carlo Bernardini, one of the young physicists involved in the construction of AdA, gave a personal recollection of the main steps of the enterprise and the exciting atmosphere pervading the LNF at that times.

INFN President, Fernando Ferroni, after recalling the glorious evolution of LNF with AdA's successor electron-positron colliders, namely ADONE and DAPHNE, had also the opportunity to briefly comment the present status of the laboratory and its future perspectives given the current critical scenario of research and funding policy in Italy.

EPS Vice-President, Luisa Cifarelli, illustrated the EPS Historic Sites initiative and, while describing the foundation and development of the EPS, underlined the strong links between the EPS and the INFN, which gave four Presidents to the Society: Gilberto Bernardini, Antonino Zichichi, Renato Angelo Ricci and herself.

The EPS Historic Site plaque was then unveiled by INFN President, Fernando Ferroni, and EPS Vice-President, Luisa Cifarelli.

The programme continued in the afternoon with two events in the LNF Bruno Touschek Auditorium, as part of the annual "Bruno Touschek Memorial Lectures": Samuel C. C. Ting (MIT, Nobel Prize for Physics in 1976) held a seminar on latest results from experiment AMS (Anti Matter in Space), and Luigi Rolandi (CERN) gave a public lecture for non-experts and high school teachers and students on the discovery of Higgs boson.

More information

AdA (Anello di Accumulazione – Storage Ring), the first ever particle-antiparticle collider

AdA, the storage ring

Unveiling of the plaque by L. Cifarelli and F. Ferroni

© INFN/LNF - right-click to enlarge images
Back to the list of EPS Historic Sites
Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice