This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
EPS Edison Volta Prize

The European Physical Society, and the Fondazione Alessandro Volta, and Edison S.p.A. have established the "EPS Edison Volta Prize" to promote excellent research and achievement in physics.

The EPS Edison Volta Prize is awarded to individuals or groups of up to 3 persons on a biennial basis. The Prize consists of a cash award of Euro 10,000 for the prize winner(s), as well as a diploma and a medal.

...promote excellent research and achievement in physics...

List of recipients

2018 - The 2018 EPS Edison Volta Prize as been awarded to

  • Alain Brillet, CNRS, Observatoire de la Côte d’Azur, Nice, France
  • Karsten Danzmann, Max-Planck- Institut für Gravitationsphysik and Leibniz University, Hannover, Germany
  • Adalberto Giazotto, † INFN, Pisa, Italy
  • Jim Hough, University of Glasgow, UK

for the development, in their respective countries, of key technologies and innovative experimental solutions, that enabled the advanced interferometric gravitational wave detectors LIGO and Virgo to detect the first gravitational wave signals from mergers of Black Holes and of Neutron Stars.

2016 - The 2016 EPS Edison Volta Prize as been awarded to

  • Michel A.G. Orrit, University of Leiden, the Netherlands

for "seminal contributions to optical science, to the field of single-molecule spectroscopy and imaging (first single molecule detection by fluorescence and first optical detection of magnetic resonance in single molecule) and for pioneering investigations into the photoblinking and photobleaching behaviors of individual molecules at the heart of many current optical super-resolution experiments."

Download the press release.

2015 - The 2015 EPS Edison Volta Prize has been awarded to the three principal scientific leaders of the European Space Agency’s (ESA) Planck Mission:

  • Nazzareno Mandolesi, University of Ferrara, Italy
  • Jean-Loup Puget, Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale, Université Paris Sud & CNRS, France
  • Jan Tauber, Directorate of Science and Robotic Exploration, European Space Agency

for "directing the development of the Planck payload and the analysis of its data, resulting in the refinement of our knowledge of the temperature fluctuations in the Cosmic Microwave Background as a vastly improved tool for doing precision cosmology at unprecedented levels of accuracy, and consolidating our understanding of the very early universe. "

Download the press release.

2014 - The 2014 EPS Edison Volta Prize has been awarded to

  • Jean-Michel Raimond, France

for “seminal contribution to physics (that) have paved the way for novel explorations of quantum mechanics and have opened new routes in quantum information processing”.

Download the press release.

2012 -
The 2012 EPS Edison Volta Prize has been awarded to

  • Rolf Dieter Heuer, CERN Director General,
  • Sergio Bertolucci, CERN Director for Research and Computing, and
  • Stephen Myers, CERN Director for Accelerators and Technology.

for "having led, building on decades of dedicated work by their predecessors, the culminating efforts in the direction, research and operation of the CERN Large Hadron Collider (LHC), which resulted in many significant advances in high energy particle physics, in particular, the first evidence of a Higgs-like boson in July 2012."

Download the announcement.
Download the press release.


Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice