This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
EPS Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics

The Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics was established in February 2013 to enhance the recognition of noteworthy women physicists with a strong connection to Europe through nationality or work.

The European Physical Society has established the Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics to:

  • bring noteworthy women physicists to the wider attention of the scientific community, policy makers and the general public;
  • identify role models that will help to attract women to a career in physics.
The scope includes personal achievements in areas such as research, education, outreach and industry.



The Summer 2020 EPS Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics is awarded to Hatice Altug.

List of recipients:

2020 Summer Prof. Dr. Hatice Altug, Institute for Bioengineering, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

for her seminal contributions to light-matter interaction at the nanoscale, manipulation of light on-chip and application of nanophotonics in biology, and her inspiring role for the next generation of researchers and women

2019 Winter Prof. Dr. Cristiane Morais Smith, Institute for Theoretical Physics, Utrecht University, the Netherlands

for her outstanding contributions to the theory of condensed matter systems and ultracold atoms to unveil novel quantum states of matter.

2019 Summer Prof. Dr. Sarah Köster, Institute for X-Ray Physics, Georg-August-University Göttingen, Germany

for her seminal contributions to the physics of biological cells and biopolymers, in particular for the understanding of intermediate filaments, and her impressive ability in teaching and recruiting women scientists in her field of research.

2018 Winter Dr. Chiara Mariotti, INFN, Italy, and CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

for her outstanding contributions to the discovery and characterisation of the Higgs boson, for her leading role as founder and coordinator of the LHC-wide Higgs Cross Section Working Group, and for her impressive capacities and achievements in outreach, in particular towards the young generation of physicists.

2017 Winter Dr. Françoise Remacle, University of Liege, Belgium

for ground breaking contributions to interdisciplinary domains bridging Physics, Chemistry, and Biology, for her leading role in European and International research projects and  for her excellent mentoring activity.

2017 Spring/Summer Dr. Catalina Curceanu, Frascati National Laboratory of the Italian Institute for Nuclear Research (LNF-INFN),
for her substantial contributions to a better understanding of low-energy QCD in the non-perturbative regime, and for her pioneering research in foundational issues. With her strong scientific record, and a rich scope of successful outreach and education activities, Dr. Curceanu is an outstanding role model for women researchers.

2016 Autumn/Winter Dr. Patricia Bassereau, Institut Curie, CNRS, France,
for her important and innovative work on the studies of soft matter and in vitro biological systems at the forefront  of the Physics-Biology science. Her rich and fruitful career is an inspiration for young women researchers.

2016 Spring/Summer Dr. Eva Monroy, CEA, France,
for playing a key role in the field of nitride semiconductor nanostructures. With her brilliant research and teaching activities, she is a model for women scientists.

2015 Autumn Prof. Sibylle Günter, IPP, Germany,
for her leading role in the study of the effects of microscopic physics on the large-scale behavior and stability of hot magnetized plasmas in fusion devices. With her solid scientific record, many leadership roles and mentoring of researchers and students, she is a model for women physicists.

2015 Spring Prof. Anna Fontcuberta i Morral, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland,
for pioneering contributions to the physics of semiconductor nanostructures and their applications in mesoscopic physics and energy harvesting.

2014 Autumn Prof. Anne L’Huillier, Faculty of Engineering, LTH in Lund, Sweden,
for playing a key role in a field at the interface of atomic and molecular physics and advanced optics, nonlinear optics and laser physics: high-order harmonic generation in gaseous media exposed to intense laser fields and its applications. Her rich and fruitful career is an inspiration for young women researchers”.

2014 Spring Dr. Rumiana Dimova, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces in Potsdam, Germany,
for her distinguished contributions to membrane biophysics, in particular for the important breakthroughs she has made in recent years in two major fields, namely electric field effects on membranes and aqueous microcompartments within vesicles, pioneering the use of new experimental techniques.

2013 Autumn Prof. Nynke Dekker, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands,
for her research including the study of different proteins on DNA and RNA, the development of novel, physics-based single molecule techniques for the measurement of DNA torque and twist, and the translocation of DNA and RNA through nanopores for structural determination.

2013 Spring Dr. Alessandra Gatti, Institute of Photonics and Nanotechnologies [IFN-CNR], Como, Italy
for pioneering contributions to the field of quantum imaging.

Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice