Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
News & Press: News From Europe

Croatia becomes an Associate Member of CERN

Thursday 17 October 2019  
Share |

10 October 2019 - Today, CERN welcomes the Republic of Croatia as an Associate Member State, following receipt of official notification that Croatia has completed its internal approval procedures in respect of the Agreement, signed on 28 February 2019, granting that status to the country.

Scientists and researchers from Croatia have contributed to many experiments at CERN for almost four decades. A Cooperation Agreement concluded between CERN and Croatia in 2001 increased the country’s participation in CERN’s research and educational programmes. Croatia applied for Associate Membership in May 2014.

As an Associate Member State, Croatia will have a seat in the CERN Council and be entitled to attend meetings of the Finance Committee and the Scientific Policy Committee. Nationals of Croatia will be eligible to apply for limited-duration positions as staff members and fellows. Firms offering goods and services originating from Croatia will be entitled to bid for CERN contracts, opening up opportunities for industrial collaboration in advanced technologies.


About CERN CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, is one of the world's leading laboratories for particle physics. The Organization is located on the French-Swiss border, with its headquarters in Geneva. Its Member States are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Cyprus and Slovenia are Associate Member States in the pre-stage to Membership. Croatia, India, Lithuania, Pakistan, Turkey and Ukraine are Associate Member States. The European Union, Japan, JINR, the Russian Federation, UNESCO and the United States of America currently have Observer status.

Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice