This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
AG Prizes and Grants
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

The EPS-AG European Accelerator Prizes have been awarded since 1994. The Prizes are awarded every three years, at IPAC conferences in Europe.

The awards are for individuals:

  • The Rolf Wideröe Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field, with no age limit,
  • The Gersh Budker Prize for a recent, significant contribution to the accelerator field, with no age limit,
  • The Frank Sacherer Prize for an individual in the early part of his or her career, having made a recent significant, original contribution to the accelerator field,
  • A prize for a student registered for a PhD or diploma in accelerator physics or engineering, or to a trainee accelerator physicist or engineer in the educational phase of their professional career, for the quality of work and promise for the future. Starting from IPAC'17 this prize will be dedicated to the memory of Bruno Touschek.

In addition, prizes are generally awarded to students whose work, presented in the Student Poster Session at IPAC in Europe, is particularly meritorious.

Full information concerning all prizes is published in the Rules of the EPS-AG.

Click here for a list of prize winners since 1994.

The EPS-AG Medal shows Mercury (Latin Mercurius  in Roman religion), commonly identified with the Greek Hermes, the fleet-footed messenger of the gods..The inscription round the circumference reads: "Felix qui potuit cognoscere semina rerum. Quanta per mundum mobilitate volent." (Happy the man who has been able to discover with how great speed the seeds of matter fly through the universe).  The quotation was adapted from the writings of Virgil and Lucretius by Peter Brown, formerly Classics Fellow at Trinity College, Oxford. The citation in the centre reads: “Praemium ab EPS-AG de particularum acceleratione optime meritis institutum” (A prize established by EPS-AG for those who have made outstanding contributions in the field of particle acceleration), also from Peter Brown. The noun 'acceleratio' is found just once in surviving Latin literature! (Courtesy of C. Biscari, C. Petit-Jean Genaz, C. Prior).


The EPS-AG co-ordinates sponsorship from European laboratories for young scientists to attend IPAC conferences, enabling them to benefit from interacting with some of the leading scientists in their field. Sponsorship is also provided for outstanding students from the Joint Universities Accelerator School (JUAS) to attend IPAC.

Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice