This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
IBA-Europhysics Prize 2020: Call for Nominations
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

 2020 IBA-Europhysics Prize for Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods in Medicine

The IBA-Europhysics Prize is sponsored by the company IBA Group. It was first offered in 2004 and thereafter every two-three year.

EPS NPD logo


Call for Nominations

The board of the European Physical Society (EPS) Nuclear Physics Division calls for nominations for the 2020 IBA-Europhysics Prize, sponsored by the company IBA in Belgium. The award will be given to one or several individuals for outstanding contributions to Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods and Nuclear Researches in Medicine.

The board welcomes proposals which represent the breadth and strength of Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods in Medicine in Europe.

Nominations should be accompanied by a completed nomination form, a brief curriculum vitae of the nominee(s) and a list of relevant publications. Up to two letters of support from authorities in the field, outlining the importance of the work of the nominee(s), would also be helpful. Nominations will be treated in strict confidence. While all nominations will be acknowledged, there will be no further communication from the selection committee, until the announcement of the prize winner.

The NPD board will select the recipient(s) of the IBA prize in the spring of 2020, and it will award the prize during the ANP conference(Applied Nuclear Physics Conference), that will take place in Prague, on September 13-18, 2020.

Nominations should be submitted by e-mail to Dr. R.Burcu Cakirli, Scientific Secretary of the EPS Nuclear Physics Division :

Deadline for submission of nominations: March 15, 2020.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from here.

Prize Rules

  1. The Prize shall be awarded every two-three years.
  2. The Prize shall consist of a Diploma of the EPS and a total prize money of EUR 5000 (to be shared if more than one laureate).
  3. The money for the Prize is provided by IBA Company, Belgium.
  4. The Prize shall be awarded to one or more researchers.
  5. The Prize shall be awarded without restrictions of nationality, sex, race or religion.
  6. Only work that has been published in refereed journals can be considered in the proposals for candidates to the prize.
  7. The board of the EPS Nuclear Physics Division shall request nominations to the Prize from experts in Nuclear Science and related fields who are not members of the Board.
  8. Self-nominations for the award shall not be accepted.
  9. Nominations shall be reviewed by a Prize Committee appointed by the board. The Committee shall consider each eligible nomination and make recommendations to the board, taking into account reports of referees who are not members of the board.
  10. The final recommendation of the board and a report shall be submitted for ratification to the Executive Committee of the EPS.

 Previous winners can be seen here

Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice