This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
NPD - PhD Thesis 2018 Call
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

Awarded by the EPS Nuclear Physics Division Board, recognizing the excellence of a recent PhD thesis in experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear physics.

EPS NPD logo


General Description

The European Physical Society (EPS), through its Nuclear Physics Division (NPD) Board, awards three Ph. D. Thesis prizes to recognize the excellency of a recent Ph.D. in Nuclear Physics.



The call for the 2018 Ph. D. Thesis Prize is now closed.

The call is open to any person who has received a Ph.D. degree in experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear physics in a country which is member of the EPS and where the degree has been awarded within the three-year period 1st January 2015 – 31st December 2017.

Applications, should include in one .pdf file, the details of the candidate, an electronic copy of the Ph. D. Diploma showing the date it was awarded, a short summary (max. 4 pages) of the Dissertation/Thesis written in English with the indication of an external link (Institutional or some accessible commercial drives) to an electronic copy of the full Thesis and links to any publication directly related to the candidate's PhD studies, a letter of support (max. 1 pages) from the candidate's thesis advisor, two additional letters of support (max. 1 page each) from physicists who are familiar with the candidate and the research.

The application form is available here

Applications will be treated in strict confidence. While all applications will be acknowledged, there will be no further communication from the selection committee, till the announcement of the prize winner.

Applications submitted by email to Dr. Nicola Colonna, 2018 PhD Thesis Prize Committee:


Deadline for submission of applications : 28th February 2018.


Prize Rules:

  • The prize winners will be given a diploma from the EPS, offered a plenary talk at the 2018 European Nuclear Physics Conference, 2-7 September, Bologna, Italy and prize money to partially cover their travel and subsistence attending the Conference.

  • The money for the Prize will be provided by sponsors.

  • The Prize shall be awarded every three years.

  • The Prize shall be awarded to three PhD.

  • The Prize shall be awarded without restrictions of nationality, sex, race or religion.

  • Call for applications will be published on EPS website.

  • Applications shall be reviewed by a Prize Committee appointed by the NPD board. The Committee shall consider each of the eligible applications and shall make recommendations to the NPD board, taking into account eventual reports of referees who are not members of the Board.






The 2018 PhD Prize is sponsored by:

  • Giersch Foundation



PhD Prize Winners

2018 Dr. Ronald Fernando Garzia Ruiz (KU, Lueven, Belgium), Dr. Carlo Giulio Bruno (University of Edinburgh, UK), and Dr. José Luis Rodríguez Sánchez (Univ. Santiago del Compostela, Spain). Read more.

2015 Dr. Jose Manuel Alarcón Soriano (Universidad de Murcia), Dr. Liam Gaffney (University of Liverpool), Dr. Christopher Walz (Technische Universität Darmstadt). Read more.

2012 Dr. Jorge Martin Camalich (University of Sussex), Dr. Thomas Elias Cocolios (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven) and Dr. Tibor Reiss (Budapest University of Technology and Economics). Read more.

Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice