Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
NPD - 2016 Lise Meitner Prize Winner
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |
Lise Meitner Prize Medal

The Nuclear Physics Division of the EPS awards the prestigious Lise Meitner Prize every second year to one or several individuals for outstanding work in the fields of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear science.

EPS NPD logo

A short article about the life of Lise Meitner can be found here.

Prize Winner 2016

The European Physical Society, through its Nuclear Physics Division, has awarded the 2016 Lise Meitner Prize to

Ulf-G. Meißner (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn and Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany) "for his developments and applications of effective field theories in hadron and nuclear physics, that allowed for systematic and precise investigations of the structure and dynamics of nucleons and nuclei based on Quantum Chromodynamics."

Prof. Dr. Ulf-G. Meißner is the leader of the HISKP theory group in the Helmholtz-Institut für Strahlen- und Kernphysik (Theorie) at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn and is also director of nuclear physics theory at the institute for Advanced Simluation at the Jülich Research Centre in Germany. The prize is awarded in recognition of Prof. Meißner's pioneering work on effective field theories in hadron and nuclear physics.

The 2016 Lise Meitner Prize was sponsored by the Karin and Carlo Giersch Foundation (Germany), the KVI Centre for Advanced Radiation Technology (Groningen, The Netherlands), the Institute for Nuclear Physics (IKP, Jülich, Germany), the Institute of Nuclear Physics (Orsay, Paris, France), the GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung (Darmstadt, ermany) and by the European Nuclear Physics Conference 2015 (Groningen, The Netherlands).

Prize Winners Previous Years

A list of previous winners of the Lise Meitner Prize can be found here.

Prof. Dr. Ulf-G. Meißner Prof. Dr. Ulf-G. Meißner

Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice