Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
NPD - 2015 PhD Prize Winners
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

Awarded by the EPS Nuclear Physics Division Board, recognizing the excellence of a recent PhD thesis in experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear physics.

The PhD prize is awarded every third year from 2012 for a PhD thesis in nuclear physics from a country that is a member of the EPS.

Prize Winners 2015

The Nuclear Physics Division of the EPS has awarded the 2012-2014 PhD Prize jointly to Dr. Jose Manuel Alarcón Soriano, Dr. Liam Gaffney and Dr. Christopher Walz.

Jose Manuel Alarcon Soriano
Dr. J.M. Alarcón Soriano
Liam Gaffney
Dr. L.P. Gaffney
Christopher Walz
Dr. C. Walz

The theses of the winners:

  • Jose Manuel Alarcón Soriano, Baryon Chiral Perturbation Theory in its manifestly covariant forms and the study of the πN dynamics & On the Y(2175) resonance, Universidad de Murcia, Spain, June 2012.
  • Liam Gaffney, Octupole collectivity in 220Rn and 224Ra, University of Liverpool, UK, September 2012.
  • Christopher Walz, The two-photon decay of the 11/2- isomer of 137Ba and mixed-symmetry states of 92,94Zr and 94Mo, Technische Universität Darmstadt, Germany, July 2014.


The winners of the PhD Prize will be presented with diplomas on the final day of the 3rd European Nuclear Physics Conference (Groningen 31 August - 4 September 2015) where they will give a plenary invited talk on their work. The winners will also receive 1000 EUR, to cover their conference costs, through the generous sponsorship from the organisers of the conference.

Prize Winners Previous Years

A list of previous winners of the PhD Prize can be found here.

Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice