This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
CMD Europhysics Prize
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features

The EPS CMD Europhysics Prize is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes in the field of condensed matter physics. It is awarded every 2 years in recognition of a prominent and well-identifiable discovery, breakthrough, or contribution to condensed matter physics, by one or more individuals, contribution that, in the opinion of the Society's selection committee, represents scientific excellence. The award may be given for either pure or applied research at the discretion of the Society.

The award recognises research for which a significant portion of the work was carried out in Europe, and is currently sponsored by EPL, Europe's leading physics letters journal. The Europhysics Prize is sponsored by EPL, the EPS flagship letters journal.

The Prize Ceremony and Lecture are highlights of the EPS CMD General Conference, organised every 2 years. For more information on where the conference is organised, please visit the CMD conference page (next conference: CMD 28 : Condensed Matter in Madrid - CMD2020GEFES, to be held ONLINE from August 31st through September 4th, 2020).

A list of previous EPS CMD Europhysics Prize recipients can be found in the document collection below.

 2020 Prize Winner

  • Jörg Wrachtrup

for his pioneering studies on quantum coherence in solid-state systems, and their applications for sensing, and, in particular, for major breakthroughs in the study of the optical and spin properties of nitrogen vacancy centres in diamond". Read the press release here.



• Return to CMD Home page ;


EPS CMD documents

More InfoHide Info ]
EPS CMD documents
Item Name Posted By Date Posted
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize Laureates PDF (311.02 KB)  more ] C. van der Beek 25/05/2020
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize Charter PDF (301.31 KB) Administration 07/01/2020
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2020 PDF (120.32 KB) C. van der Beek 25/05/2020
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2018 PDF (76.58 KB) C. van der Beek 20/02/2018
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2016 PDF (333.84 KB) Administration 26/09/2017
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2014 PDF (1.73 MB) G. Gunaratnam, European Physical Society 13/06/2014
EPS CMD Europhysics Prize 2012 PDF (65.18 KB) G. Gunaratnam, EPS 06/09/2012
Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice