Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Groups: Computational Physics Group

Welcome Page of the Computational Physics Group (updated to April 2021).

  • The Computational Physics Group (CPG) dates back to the early years of EPS. It was created as a forum of discussion concerning the use of computers in physics, with the aim “to gather the physicists active in different branches of physics to discuss common problems concerning computation … and to foster European collaboration in the development of computational methods and tools in the context of the physics research”. A committee proposed to EPS the creation of an interdivisional group. In 1972 the First European Conference in Computational Physics, in Geneva, was held where the first Board met, elected by a group of 200 participants. The 2nd and 3rd European Conferences were organized in 1976 and 1978. Summers schools and publishing activities (Handbooks, and the birth of the review journal Computer Physics Reports were the relevant results of the actions of the Group). In 1990 the CPG had more than 400 members.
  • In the early ’90s, the tradition of an annual Conferences on Computational Physics (CCP) was established, by a joint initiative of American and European Physical Societies, initially in alternate sites in USA (where the Computational Physics had tits very begin in the fifties) and in Europe (where it diffused some years later). Then it has been sponsored by IUPAP (that created one of its Commissions – the C 20 – dedicated to Computational Physics in 1999). Thus the conference series got a new name, with the inclusion of the IUPAP label into the name of the conferences. The involvement of the countries of other continents begun in 2000, when the 12th IUPAP CCP was in Brisbane; then the recurrence of European sites was about every three years. 
  • In the statute of our Group - together with the promotion and development of Computational Physics, the links with other societies, and the sponsorship of computational physics candidates for awards and fellowships - it was clearly written the purpose “to ensure – in closed collaboration with IUPAP C 20 – that the Conference on Computational Physics, recognized as the main in this field, be organized properly in accordance with the established level of quality, especially when taking place in Europe”. 
  • In the last few years CPG has reduced its strength, but there is a new will to enforce it again. A provisional Computational Physics Board, (CPB) mixing some old members and new coopted persons, is trying to give new momentum to the Group.  At the beginning of 2020 the epidemic event of Covid has stopped the new plans. The CCP 2020, originally planned at Coventry for the beginning of August 2020, the 32nd of the Series, was shifted to this year and is planned in on-line mode with the possibility to add-on face-to-face modules, for 1- 5 August 2021Another important event for Computational Physics in Europe, the PSI-k Conference, fixed for September 2020 has been postponed by two years, to August 22-25, 2022 at Lausanne. 
  • The Board is planning to attract more members in the Group, asking them to contribute to the life of CPG, encouraging the organization of meetings, the diffusion of information about schools and training activities, in the forms that can be presently used, through the web. A further extension of the interim Board is planned to get a wider provisional representation of the community. As the Group at present is almost empty, the scientists working in computational physics are encouraged to join EPS as individual members and - as Members – to become part of the Group by signing in through the EPS web page. After reaching a sufficiently high number of participants and after the resumption of activities and community life at the end of these difficult times, the election of a new Board is planned.

Group Feed
Ana Proykova joined the group Groups: Computational Physics Group .
Posted Thursday 30 September 2021
 More »

Recently Updated Profiles
Ana Proykova, Luc Bergé, Valentina Marascu, Giovanni Onida, Nils Basse

Board Member
Joan Adler
Board Member
Norbert Attig
Board Member
Pere Colet
Board Member
Alex Hansen
Board Member
Nicola Marzari
Board Member
Lev Shchur
Board Member
Martin Weigel
Carlo Maria Bertoni


Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice

This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.