Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Divisions: Condensed Matter Division
Group Pages

 The Condensed Matter Division (CMD) of the European Physical Society, aims to serve its scientific, industrial and educational communities by helping them to obtain the latest information on progress in their specialties and related fields, to gain visibility for their research, to help them interact with their peers and to develop professionally. For this, CMD organises a number of major physics events, awards two of the foremost prizes in Condensed Matter Physics - the EPS-CMD Europhysics Prize and the Liquid Matter Prize - and issues a monthly Newsletter.


The 2020 EPS-CMD Europhysics Prize is awarded to Prof. Jörg Wrachtrup of the University of Stuttgart.

Please see the EPS-CMD Europhysics Prize page for details

The 2020 EPS Liquid Matter Prize is awarded to Prof. Daan Frenkel of the University of Cambridge.

 Please see the EPS Liquid Matter Prize page for details.


The Condensed Matter Division includes several sections focused on specific areas of condensed matter physics:

A major activity of CMD and its sections is the organisation of quality peer-reviewed conferences and scientific meetings, including the biennial EPS CMD conference, as well as several other major European conferences. The last CMD conference, CMD27, was held in Berlin, Germany as the 2018 Joint Conference of the Condensed Matter Divisions of the EPS and of the DPG.


The next Liquid Matter conference of the EPS Condensed Matter Division (LMC2020) will be held in Prague (Czech Republic) from July 20th through 24th, 2020.

EPS Liquid Matter Prize : Call for nominations - In 2020, the Liquids Section of the EPS Condensed Matter Division will award the European Physical Society’s Liquid Matter Prize. The prize will be awarded to a single person who has made outstanding contributions to the science of liquid matter in the experimental or theoretical area and who is still active in research. The award may be given for pure or applied research.

The prize will be awarded during the 11th Liquid Matter Conference to be held in Prague, Czech Republic, 20–24 July 2020. We would appreciate receiving your suggestions for deserving candidates. The nomination must include a short citation and a brief description of the main achievements of the candidate.
Nominations should be sent by email to the Chair of the Prize Jury, Professor Igor Musevic, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia, no later than Monday, September 30, 2019.

The 35th European Conference on Surface Science will take place at the University of Luxembourg, Belval Campus, Luxembourg, from the 23rd to the 28th of August 2020.

ECOSS is a traditional annual meeting directed jointly by the Surface Science Division of the International Union for Vacuum Science, Technique and Applications (IUVSTA) and the Surface and Interface Section of the European Physical Society (EPS).

The conference provides an excellent opportunity for scientists from Europe and from all over the world to meet and discuss the latest advances in surface physics and chemistry and the progress of the surface science approach in the related innovation fields of heterogeneous catalysis, organic molecular nano-architectures, two-dimensional materials and graphene, nanoelectronics, bio-nanoscience and functional/energy materials.

Website :



The next General conference of the EPS Condensed Matter Division (CMD28) will be held as CMD 2020 GEFES in Madrid from August 31st through September 4th, 2020.

Call for Minicolloquia  -  As usual in CMD, a large collection of Mini-colloquia will gather specific scientific communities. These will have the same format and modus operandi as at the previous EPS-CMD conferences. They resemble Focus Sessions at similar meetings. The Call for Minicolloquia for CMD 2020 GEFES is now closed. More than 60 proposals have been received.


Pierre-Gilles de Gennes prize of the EPFL

To honour the life and work of Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne has, with the approval of Pierre-Gilles' family, instituted a regular Pierre-Gilles de Gennes prizeThe Pierre-Gilles de Gennes prize is pluridisciplinary:  it will reward a researcher who has completed a Ph.D. in solid state sciences in recent years (roughly, less than 12 years ago) and who is now successfully continuing her/his research and career in bio or nano-bio field of science.

Nominations for the prize should be proposed by April 1, 2020. Please send a brief letter justification to: .
The distinguished international jury will choose the winner who will receive the prize and give a special talk on the 3rd day of the
conference "From Solid state to Biophysics", to be held in Dubrovnik (Croatia), from June 6th - 13th, 2020.

Upcoming Events
Conference: From Solid State to Biophysics X
Saturday 6 June 2020
Second joint conference of ICACS-29 and SHIM-11
Sunday 21 June 2020
2nd Workshop on spins, valleys, and topological states in 2D and layered materials, 2D SPIN 2020
Monday 20 July 2020
ECOSS - 35
Sunday 23 August 2020
CMD 28 : The 28th General Conference of the Condensed Matter Division of the EPS
Monday 31 August 2020
Monday 31 August 2020
Monday 7 September 2020
Conference / Magnetism: Intermag 2021
Monday 26 April 2021

Board Member
Jose Maria DE TERESA
Board Member
Christian Enss
Board Member
Manuel Ricardo Ibarra
Board Member
Guenter Reiter
Board Member
Massimo Rontani
Board Member
Petra Rudolf
Board Member
Erich Runge
Cornelis van der Beek

Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice

This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.