Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
EPS Nuclear Physics Division - PhD Prize

Homepage I News of EPS I Organisation I Prizes I Conferences I Links I Reports I Intranet

Awarded by Nuclear Physics Board - on behalf of the Nuclear Physics Division of the European Physical Society, the award recognizes the excellence of a recent Ph. D. in Nuclear Physics.

Nominations are open to any person who has received a Ph.D. degree in experimental, theoretical or applications of nuclear physics in a country which is member of the EPS within the three-year period 2012-2014..

2012-2014 PhD PRIZE
The call for nominations is now open. Click here for more information.

Prize winners 2012

The Nuclear Physics Division of the EPS is pleased to announce the first winners of its new award for the best Ph.D. degree in experimental nuclear physics, theoretical nuclear physics or applications of nuclear physics. The first award covered Ph.D.s awarded in 2009, 2010 or 2011 in countries which are member of the EPS.

The standard of entries was extremely high and the award committee commends the winners for having achieved an enormous amount during their Ph.D. work. The joint winners are Dr Jorge Martin Camalich, Dr Thomas Elias Cocolios and Dr Tibor Reiss.

The three winners will be presented with Diplomas on the final day of the 2nd European Nuclear Physics Conference (Bucharest 17th-21st September 2012) where they will give a Plenary invited talk on their work. The winners will also receive €1000 to cover their conference costs through generous sponsorship from CAEN and APC Schneider Electric

The awards committee was impressed by the very high standard of some of the runners up and decided that the theses of Dr Pauline Ascher, Dr Oscar Moreno Diaz, Dr Sebastian George, Dr Haozhoa Liang, Dr Xavier Roca-Maza and Dr Guy Ron were worthy of a "Special Mention". These runners-up have been invited to give a 20 minute talk in one of the conference subject-specific parallel sessions and will be given €350 towards their conference costs.

Further details of the prize are given on a separate prize website.

Dr Jorge Martin Camalich,
Dr Thomas Elias Cocolios and
Dr Tibor Reiss

Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice