Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
EPS Nuclear Physics Division - Lise Meitner Prize 2014

Homepage I News of EPS I Organisation I Prizes I Conferences I Links I Reports I Intranet

General Description

The European Physical Society (EPS), through its Nuclear Physics Board (NPB) shall award a Prize to one or more researchers who have made outstanding contributions to Nuclear Science. Such contributions may comprise experimental Nuclear Physics, theoretical Nuclear Physics and all areas of applications of Nuclear Science and shall represent the breadth and strength of Nuclear Physics in Europe.

The Prize is named after Lise Meitner to honour her fundamental contributions to Nuclear Science and her courageous and exemplary life.

The Lise Meitner Prize is sponsored by ELI-NP.


• The Prize shall be awarded every two years.
• The Prize shall consist of a Diploma, a Medal with the image of Lise Meitner and cash, when available.
• The money for the Prize will be provided by sponsors.
• The Prize shall be awarded to one or more researchers.
• The Prize shall be awarded without restrictions of nationality, sex, race or religion.
• Only work that has been published in refereed journals can be considered in the proposals for candidates to the Prize.
• The NPB shall request nominations to the Prize from experts in Nuclear Science and related fields who are not members of the Board. Calls for nomination will be published on the EPOS website.
• Self-nominations for the award shall not be accepted.
• Nominations shall be reviewed by a Prize Committee appointed by the NPB. The Committee shall consider each of the eligible nominations and shall make recommendations to the NPB, taking also into account reports of referees who are not members of the Board.
• The final recommendation of the NPB and a report shall be submitted for ratification to the Executive Committee of the EPS.
The deadline for nominations is 31 January 2014.

Nomination form

The nomination form can be downloaded here.

Membership of the 2014 Lise Meitner Prize committee

Victor Zamfir (Chair)
Faical Azaiez
Dennis Bonatsos
Douglas MacGregor
Karlheinz Langanke

Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice