Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Ultrafast Spintronics: from Fundamentals to Technology
View Registrations Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Ultrafast Spintronics: from Fundamentals to Technology

23/10/2018 to 26/10/2018
When: 23/10/2018
Where: The Mainz Institute of Theoretical Physics
Johannes Gutenberg University
Staudingerweg 9
Mainz, DE -  55128
Contact: Yuriy Mokrousov

« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Ultrafast Spintronics: from Fundamentals to Technology

Mainz, Germany: October 23rd - 26th 2018

The 21st century digital economy and technology is presently facing fundamental scaling limits (heating and the superparamagnetic limit) as well as societal challenges: the move to mobile devices and the increasing demand of cloud storage leads to an enormous increase in energy consumption of our ICT infrastructure. These developments require new strategies and paradigm shifts, such as spin-based technologies and the introduction of photonic processors. Currently, photons are used for information transport, electrons for processing and spins for storage. Future developments will require integration of these separate technologies. Spintronic or spin-based memory such as Spin-torque transfer magnetic Random Access Memory (STT-RAM) is one concept that may revolutionize memory technology. The ability to control spins and macroscopic magnetic ordering by means of femtosecond laser pulses provides an alternative and energy efficient approach to magnetic recording. But this will only provide a novel and energy efficient alternative to current data storage if spintronics can be integrated with photonics. Such integration may also allow faster spin logic. Antiferromagnetic materials may provide another alternative for fast spintronics, but there are still many challenges. In this workshop we want to discuss recent developments in this exciting field as well as the challenges that lay ahead.


Yuriy Mokrousov, Julich
Theo Rasing, Radboud

Invited Speakers

Jeffrey Bokor, Berkeley
Marie Barthelemy, Strasbourg
Jeffrey Bokor, Berkeley
Chiara Cicarelli, Cambridge
Bernard Dieny, INAC
Stefan Eisebitt, BESSY
Frank Freimuth, Julich
Olena Gomonay, Mainz
Martjin Heck, Aarhus
Wolfgang Hybner, Kaiserslautern
Bert Koopmans, Eindhoven
Mo Li, Minnesota
Stephane Mangin, Nancy Rostislav Mikhaylovskiy, Nijmegen
Markus Munzenberg, Greifswald
Kamil Olejnik, Prague
Peter Oppeneer, Uppsala
Thomas Ostler, Sheffield
Anna Pogrebna, Nijmegen
Lucian Prejbeanu, INAC
Sangeeta Sharma, Halle
Dries van Thourhout, Ghent University
Clemens von Korff Schmising, Berlin
Martin Weinelt, Berlin
Konstantin A. Zvezdin, Moscow
Anatoly K. Zvezdin, Moscow

Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice