Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Blog Home All Blogs

EPS-PPD PhD Research Award

Posted By Administration, Thursday 12 April 2018

The EPS Plasma Physics Division Board has pleasure in announcing four winners of its 2018 PhD Research Award. These were selected on the basis of their outstanding PhD theses, which were among many submitted for evaluation by Professor Stefano Atzeni (University of Rome 1) and Professor Hartmut Zohm (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching), in a process co-ordinated by Professor Carlos Silva (Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon) for the EPS-PPD Board. Each winner receives a prize of one thousand euros, together with the opportunity to give an oral presentation at the 45th Annual EPS Conference on Plasma Physics, to be held in Prague in early July.

The winners (in alphabetical order of surname) are:

  • Matteo Falessi of Roma Tre University, for his thesis on "Gyrokinetic theory for particle transport in fusion plasmas", supervised by Fulvio Zonca; 
  • Jack Hare of Imperial College London, for his thesis on "High energy density magnetic reconnection experiments in colliding carbon plasma flows", supervised by Sergey Lebedev;
  • Adrien Leblanc of the University of Paris-Saclay, for his thesis on "Plasma mirrors and plasma gratings under ultra-intense laser illumination: high-order harmonic generation, and relativistic electron beams", supervised by François Amiranoff;
  • Wei Zhang of Ghent University, for his thesis on "Plasma edge modeling with ICRF coupling", supervised by Jean-Marie Noterdaeme.

More information:

- website of the EPS Plasma Physics Division

- website of the 45th Annual EPS Conference on Plasma Physics

Tags:  2018  award  EPS Plasma Physics Division  EPS PPD  PhD Research Award 

Share |

Landau-Spitzer Award for excellence in plasma physics research: Call for nominations

Posted By Administration, Thursday 22 February 2018

The Landau-Spitzer Award on the Physics of Plasmas for “Outstanding contributions to plasma physics” is jointly sponsored by the Plasma Physics Divisions of the American Physical Society and the European Physical Society.

The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the USA by joint research or research that advances knowledge which benefits the two communities in a unique way. The award may be given to a team or collaboration of up to four persons affiliated with either the European or US institutions.
See details in
This year the award is intended for an early career researcher (in the first 10 years of their career following the award of a PhD). This year the winner/-s would be offered an invited talk at the 2018 APS DPP meeting.
Establishment & Support
The American Physical Society (APS) and the European Physical Society (EPS), through their respective Plasma Physics Divisions, will each contribute $2000 per prize.
Rules & Eligibility
Self-nominations are not accepted. Members of the APS Division of Plasma Physics Executive Committee or members of the EPS Plasma Physics Division Board are not eligible.

Nomination & Selection Process

Tags:  2018  APS  call  EPS Plasma Physics Division  EPS PPD  Landau-Spitzer Award  nominations 

Share |

Professor Tony Bell is awarded the Hannes Alfvén Prize 2018

Posted By Administration, Tuesday 19 December 2017

The European Physical Society, through its Plasma Physics Division, is pleased to announce the Hannes Alfvén Prize 2018 is awarded to

Professor Tony Bell FRS of Oxford University

Tony Bell has opened up new research fields in both astrophysics and the laboratory. His seminal contributions cover cosmic ray acceleration by shocks, magnetic field amplification by cosmic rays, flux limited electron transport, generation of magnetic field by laserproduced energetic electrons, collimation of electron beams for inertial fusion, prolific production of electronpositron pairs.

Scientific background

Tony Bell is a theoretical plasma physicist. During the course of his career he has opened up new research fields in both astrophysical and laboratory plasmas. His foremost achievement is the leading role he played in the development of what is now the standard model of astrophysical particle acceleration and cosmic ray (CR) origins.

He was the sole author of two particularly seminal papers:

(i) In 1978 Tony Bell proposed the theory of diffusive shock acceleration

(ii) In 2004 he showed how streaming cosmic rays can excite a new plasma instability and amplify magnetic fields as required for CR acceleration to PeV energies in supernova remnants (SNR) and to explain the strong magnetic fields observed at shocks.

The process of diffusive shock acceleration was independently proposed by Bell and by three other research groups. The theory of magnetic field amplification was proposed by Bell alone. Shockaccelerated relativistic electrons are responsible for the synchrotron and inverse Compton radiation from radio to gammaray wavelengths that contributes a substantial part of our knowledge of the universe.

In the field of laboratory plasma physics Tony Bell has been one of the main players over three decades in developing the understanding of electron transport in laserproduced plasmas. A longterm aim is the development of laserdriven thermonuclear fusion as a commercially viable source of electricity. In the medium term, laserplasma interactions at high laser intensity are increasingly seen as a shortpulse source of energetic photons, protons, electrons and positrons with a variety of applications. Tony Bell’s main achievements in laboratory plasma physics are:

(i) Explanation of ‘fluxlimited’ inhibition of thermal conduction in Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF) capsules. This initiated the development of the nonlocal theory of electron transport that has proved to be one of the building blocks of the understanding of laserproduced plasmas.

(ii) Theory of energetic electron transport, showing how selfgenerated magnetic field can focus beams of energetic electrons into the dense thermonuclear fuel as required for high gain ICF by ‘fast ignition’.

(iii) Theoretical demonstration that Quantum Electrodynamics (QED) will play an important role in experiments with next generation high power lasers leading to prolific gammaray and electronpositron pair generation.

The common theme uniting these apparently disparate researches is the generation and transport of energetic particles whether they are cosmic rays in astrophysics or energetic electrons and electronpositron pairs in laserproduced plasmas.

Tags:  2018  aw  EPS Plasma Physics Division  eps ppd  Hannes Alfvén Prize  Plasma Physics 

Share |

Dieter Meschede elected as next president of the German Physical Society

Posted By Administration, Thursday 2 March 2017
The DPG council unanimously elected Dieter Meschede as next presient of the Society from 2018 to 2020. Professor Meschede is leader of the Quantum Technology Group of the Institute of Applied Physics at the University of Bonn. He will start his term in April 2018, following Rolf-Dieter Heuer, who will then be vice-president for two years.

Read the complete press release (German) on the website of the German Physical Society.

Tags:  2018  DPG  president  term 

Share |
Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice