This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (278) posts »

EPS Accelerator Group announces 2020 prize-winners

Posted By Administration, Wednesday 20 May 2020
Updated: Thursday 14 May 2020
author: Mike Seidel

The European Physical Society Accelerator Group (EPS-AG) has announced the winners of the 2020 Accelerator Prizes. The prizes were presented on 14 May in the context of the International Particle Accelerator Conference. It had been planned to hold IPAC’20 in Caen, France. Due to the restrictions resulting from the Covid-19 epidemic, the conference was not held as a presential meeting, but the oral program including a live presentation of the award session was made available under

Prof. Lucio Rossi of CERN, receives the Rolf Wideröe Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field. He is rewarded for his pioneering role in the development of superconducting magnet technology for accelerators and experiments, its application to complex projects in High Energy Physics including strongly driving industrial capability, and for his tireless effort in promoting the field of accelerator science and technology.

The Gersch Budker Prize, for a recent significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, is awarded to Dr. Hideaki Hotchi, J-PARC. He receives the prize for his achievements in the commissioning of the J-PARC Rapid Cycling Synchrotron, with sustained 1 MW operation at unprecedented low levels of beam loss made possible by his exceptional understanding of complex beam dynamics processes, thereby laying the foundations for future high power proton synchrotrons worldwide.

The Frank Sacherer Prize, for an individual in the early part of his or her career goes to to Dr. Johannes Steinmann, ANL, for his significant contribution to the development and demonstration of ultra-fast accelerator instrumentation using THz technology, having the potential for major impact on the field of electron bunch-by-bunch diagnostics.

For further information, visit: .


Tags:  Accelertor Group  EPS AG  prize 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice