This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (298) posts »

EPS-PPD PhD Research Award

Posted By Administration, Thursday 12 April 2018

The EPS Plasma Physics Division Board has pleasure in announcing four winners of its 2018 PhD Research Award. These were selected on the basis of their outstanding PhD theses, which were among many submitted for evaluation by Professor Stefano Atzeni (University of Rome 1) and Professor Hartmut Zohm (Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Garching), in a process co-ordinated by Professor Carlos Silva (Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon) for the EPS-PPD Board. Each winner receives a prize of one thousand euros, together with the opportunity to give an oral presentation at the 45th Annual EPS Conference on Plasma Physics, to be held in Prague in early July.

The winners (in alphabetical order of surname) are:

  • Matteo Falessi of Roma Tre University, for his thesis on "Gyrokinetic theory for particle transport in fusion plasmas", supervised by Fulvio Zonca; 
  • Jack Hare of Imperial College London, for his thesis on "High energy density magnetic reconnection experiments in colliding carbon plasma flows", supervised by Sergey Lebedev;
  • Adrien Leblanc of the University of Paris-Saclay, for his thesis on "Plasma mirrors and plasma gratings under ultra-intense laser illumination: high-order harmonic generation, and relativistic electron beams", supervised by François Amiranoff;
  • Wei Zhang of Ghent University, for his thesis on "Plasma edge modeling with ICRF coupling", supervised by Jean-Marie Noterdaeme.

More information:

- website of the EPS Plasma Physics Division

- website of the 45th Annual EPS Conference on Plasma Physics

Tags:  2018  award  EPS Plasma Physics Division  EPS PPD  PhD Research Award 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice