Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (240) posts »

EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2017 - Nominations are open

Posted By Administration, Tuesday 18 October 2016
Updated: Thursday 20 October 2016

Nominations for the EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2017 “For outstanding contributions to plasma physics” are now open. 

The prize was established by the EPS Plasma Physics Division in 2000 and is awarded for research achievements which have either already shaped the field of plasma physics or have demonstrated the potential to do so in future. To recognize collaborative research, a group of up to three individual scientists may be nominated.

The previous Alfvén Prize laureates are:

R Balescu (2000)

V Shafranov (2001)

M Rosenbluth (2002)

V E Fortov (2003)

J W Connor, R J Hastie and J B Taylor (2004)

M G Haines, T W L Sandford and V Smirnov (2005)

P H Rebut (2006)

F Wagner (2007)

L Chen (2008)

J Meyer-ter-Vehn (2009)

A H Boozer and J Nührenberg (2010)

P Diamond, A Hasegawa and K Mima (2011)

E Parker (2012)

M Porkolab (2013)

P Mora (2014)

N Fisch (2015)

S Bulanov and H Zohm (2016)


The closing date for nominations for the 2017 prize is November 4th, 2016

The completed nomination form should be sent to the Chair of the Plasma Physics Division Board of the European Physical Society, Prof Richard Dendy, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, Abingdon, Oxfordshire OX14 3DB, U.K., preferably by electronic mail:


 Call for the EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize 2017: download the pdf below

 EPS Hannes Alfvén Prize

Download File (PDF)

Tags:  2017  call  EPS Plasma Physics Division  EPS PPD  Hannes Alfvén Prize 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Community Search
Sign In

EPS Privacy Notice