This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Solar Physics Division
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (40) posts »

ESPD prizes

Posted By Tom Van Doorsselaere, Monday 28 August 2017

In a consultation process kicked off  in 2015, the ESPD / EPS decided in 2016 to implement three Division Prizes, foreseen by its statutes and bylaws since its establishment in 2008: a Senior Prize, presented to a distinguished senior solar scientist for a life-long prolific career or scholarship, an Early Career Prize, presented to a solar scientist with an outstanding research track record up to four years after the completion of his / her PhD Thesis and a PhD Thesis Prize, presented to a young researcher who achieved significant doctoral work and a successful PhD Thesis completion over the previous calendar year. The PhD Thesis and Early Career Prizes are awarded annually, while the Senior Prize is triennial.

In view of the 15th European Solar Physics Meeting (ESPM-15) in Budapest, Hungary, in early September 2017, the ESPD Prize Committee established a majority practice addressing potential conflicts of interest to evaluate the nominations for the PhD Thesis and Early Career Prizes.

The EPS Solar Physics Division is delighted to present the first-ever, 2017 ESPD Prize winners:

(i)     PhD Thesis Prize to Dr. Clara Froment for significant contributions to the solar coronal heating problem in the course her PhD Thesis.

(ii)    Early Career Prize to Dr. Natasha Jeffrey for significant contributions to the physics of solar flares and for inspiring outreach activities.

(iii)   Senior Prize to Prof. Dr. Manfred Schüssler for his outstanding, life-long scholarship in solar physics, his fundamental contribution to the study of solar magnetic fields and his school-forming influence on generations of solar physicists.

In the case of the ESPD Senior Prize, in particular, the Board moved to appoint a Committee of senior external experts to evaluate submitted nominations. This Committee consisted of Prof. Lidia Van Driel-Gesztelyi (MSSL & Observatoire de Paris – Chair), Prof. Marcel Goossens (KU Leuven), Dr. Nicole Vilmer (Observatoire de Paris) and Prof. Loukas Vlahos (University of Thessaloniki).

The EPS SPD Board extends its most sincere congratulations to all Prize winners and thanks them for their prompt acceptance of these distinctions. It also sincerely thanks the members of the Senior Prize Committee for their immediate, enthusiastic response to contribute to this important Division function.

The 2017 ESPD Prizes will be presented in the course of ESPM-15, during an award ceremony specifically designed for this event.

Tags:  prize 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Community Search
Sign In
Login with LinkedIn

EPS Privacy Notice