Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
News & Press: News From Europe

Announcement of EAS Prizes 2018

22 February 2018  
Share |

The European Astronomical Society (EAS) is pleased to announce today the awardees of its 2018 Prizes.

Tycho Brahe Prize

The 2018 Tycho Brahe Prize is awarded to Prof. Andrzej Udalski (University of Warsaw, Poland) in recognition of the role as driving force behind OGLE (Optical Gravitational Lensing Experiment), one of the most successful and longest running sky-variability surveys ever undertaken. OGLE has made a significant impact on many fields in modern astrophysics.

Lodewijk Woltjer Lecture

The 2018 Lodewijk Woltjer Lecture is awarded to Prof. Conny Aerts (KU Leuven, Belgium and Radboud University Nijmegen, the Netherlands) for outstanding work in stellar physics, in particular in the field of asteroseismology.

MERAC Prizes

The 2018 MERAC Prizes for the Best Doctoral Thesis are awarded in

Theoretical Astrophysics
to Dr Sandrine Codis (IAP, France) for the study of the imprint of the large-scale structure of the Universe on galaxy formation and cosmology.

Observational Astrophysics
to Dr Renske Smit (University of Cambridge, UK) for the observational characterisation of the physical properties of the galaxies that formed in the first billion years of cosmic time.

New Technologies
to Dr Martin Pertenais (DLR, Germany) for a PhD thesis on cutting-edge concepts of compact polychromatic spectropolarimeters adapted to astrophysical space mission requirements in the UV domain.

All five awardees will give a plenary lecture at the European Week of Astronomy and Space Science (EWASS) to be held in Liverpool, United Kingdom, on 3 – 6 April 2018.

Details about the winners at:

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely