Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
NPD - Lise Meitner Prize Winners
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |
Lise Meitner Prize Medal

The Nuclear Physics Division of the EPS awards the prestigious Lise Meitner Prize every second year to one or several individuals for outstanding work in the fields of experimental, theoretical or applied nuclear science.

EPS NPD logo

A short article about the life of Lise Meitner can be found here.

Lise Meitner Prize Winners

2016: Ulf-G. Meißner (Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn and Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany) for his developments and applications of effective field theories in hadron and nuclear physics, that allowed for systematic and precise investigations of the structure and dynamics of nucleons and nuclei based on Quantum Chromodynamics. Read more.

2014: Johanna Stachel (Physikalisches Institut der Universität Heidelberg, Germany), Peter Braun-Munzinger (GSI, Germany), Paolo Giubellino (INFN Torino, Italy and CERN, Switzerland) and Jürgen Schukraft (CERN, Switzerland) for their outstanding contributions to the experimental exploration of the quark-gluon plasma using ultra-relativistic nucleus-nucleus collisions, in particular to the design and construction of ALICE and shaping its physics program and scientific results bringing to light unique and unexpected features of a deconfined state of strongly-interacting matter at the highest temperatures ever produced in the laboratory. Read more.

2012: Karlheinz Langanke (GSI and TU Darmstadt, Germany) and Friedrich-Karl Thielemann (University of Basel, Switzerland) for their seminal contributions to the description of nuclear processes in astrophysical environments that have changed our modern understanding of stellar evolution, supernovae explosions and nucleosynthesis.

2010: Juha Äystö (Department of Physics, University of Jyväskylä, Finland) for accurate determination of fundamental nuclear properties by the invention of innovative methods of ion guidance and its applications to radioactive ion beams. Most of the work, and the development of the ion guide method in particular, have been performed at the cyclotron laboratories in Jyväskylä at both the old and the new Physics Departments.

2008: Reinhard Stock and Walter Greiner (Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität and FIAS, Frankfurt, Germany). Reinhard Stock for his outstanding contributions to the development of the field of relativistic nucleus-nucleus collisions by initiating research through the innovative use of high-energy accelerators (BEVALAC at LBL, SPS at CERN) which indicated the existence of a new form of matter. Walter Greiner for his outstanding contributions to the development of the field of relativistic nucleus-nucleus collisions by pioneering the ideas of shock waves and collective flow in nuclear matter, thus inspiring experimental studies of nuclear matter at extreme conditions of density and temperature.

2006: Heinz-Jürgen Kluge (GSI Darmstadt) and David Brink (Department of Physics, Oxford, United Kingdom). Heinz-Jürgen Kluge for his key contributions to our knowledge of the masses, sizes, shapes and spins of nuclei through a number of decisive, sophisticated and brilliant experiments which combine atomic and nuclear physics techniques. David Brink for his many contributions to the theory of nuclear structure and nuclear reactions over several decades, including his seminal work on the theory of nuclear masses using Skyrme effective interactions, nuclear giant resonances, clustering in nuclei and quantum and semi-classical theories of heavy-ion scattering and reactions.

2004: Bent Herskind (Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen, Denmark) and Peter Twin (Department of Physics, The University of Liverpool, United Kingdom) for their pioneering development of experimental tools, methods of analysis and experimental discoveries concerning rapidly spinning nuclei, in particular the discovery of superdeformed bands in wide regions of the periodic table.

2002: James Philip Elliot (University of Sussex, Brighton, United Kingdom) and Francesco Iachello (Yale University, New Haven, USA) for their innovative applications of group theoretical methods to the understanding of atomic nuclei.

2000: Peter Armbruster (GSI, Darmstadt), Gottfried Münzenberg (GSI, Darmstadt) and Yuri Ts. Oganessian (Flerov Laboratory, Dubna) for their unique work over a long period on the synthesis of heavy elements, which has led to the discovery of the new elements in the region of nuclear charges of Z=102 to 105 (Dubnium), as well as Bohrium (Z=107), Hassium (Z=108) and Meitnerium (Z=109).

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely