Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Divisions: European Solar Physics Division
Group Pages

Welcome to the web pages of the European Solar Physics Division (ESPD). The ESPD is a division of the European Physical Society that represents and provides a forum for scientists interested in the physics of the Sun.



The objective of the ESPD is the advancement of the study of the Sun, the dissemination of key results of solar physics research to the general public, and the promotion and coordination of such research with other areas and branches of the physical sciences.
More specifically, the ESPD aims to form an umbrella organization for coordination Solar and Space Environment research and to

  • to promote studies in solar physics and related topics,
  • to facilitate contacts between members,
  • to encourage collaboration in scientific research and exchange of personnel between institutions,
  • to stimulate the interest of young scientists in the field of solar physics,
  • to organize regular meetings, to maintain contacts with related groups within the EPS,
  • to communicate with similar organizations in other parts of the world.

Vision and strategy

The new ESPD de facto restructures the solar and space environments research community. It `joins' forces of JOSO, CESRA, EAST, SWWT (ESA), etc. and provides the wanted coherent umbrella structure. The ESPD facilitates coordination of collaborative projects. These will be further organized by JOSO, CESRA, EAST and the SWWT and the ESPD will try to provide extra organizational and financial support.

The ESPD envisions involvement in the major solar physics conferences in Europe and in the world and would like to start organizing a series of yearly intensive topical workshops and schools. The new European Solar Physics Division will establish committees to better conduct its tasks and affairs. These committees shall include, but are not limited to, the following: a Nominations Committee, an ESPD Prize Committee, a Popular Writing Award Committee, a Summer School Committee, an Education and Public Outreach Committee, and an ESPD Student Committee.

List of board members

Manolis Georgoulis (President)
Lucie Green (Vice-President)
Etienne Pariat (Treasurer)
Ineke De Moortel (Secretary)
Tom Van Doorsselaere (Press Officer)   
Shaun Bloomfield
Laurent Gizon
Ilaria Ermolli

Hana Meszarosova
Jorrit Leenaarts
Eduard Kontar (also president of CESRA)
Georgia Tsiropoula
Stefaan Poedts (co-opted: SWWT)
Valery Nakariakov (co-opted: former president)
Mats Carlsson (co-opted: EAST)

Upcoming Events
SHINE 2017 Workshop (Saint Sauveur, QC, Canada)
24 July 2017
SHINE 2017 Workshop (Saint-Saveur, Quebec)
24 July 2017
UN/US Workshop on the International Space Weather Initiative
31 July 2017
XIX Giambiagi Winter School – Computational Fluid Dynamics and Applications (Buenos Aires, Argentina
31 July 2017
First International Workshop on Small Satellites for Space Weather Research & Forecasting
01 August 2017

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely