Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (226) posts »

EPS Emmy Noether Distinction: nominate an outstanding physicist

Posted By Administration, 19 May 2016
Updated: 19 May 2016

In 2013, the European Physical Society [EPS] launched the Emmy Noether Distinction to recognize noteworthy women physicists.

Emmy Noether was an influential theoretical physicist, and a role model for future generations of physicists. The laureates of the Emmy Noether Distinction are chosen for their capacity to inspire the next generation of scientists, and especially encourage women to handle careers in physics.

The previous prizes were awarded to:

  • Prof. Sibylle Günter, IPP, Germany (2015)
  • Prof. Anna Fontcuberta i Morral, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland (2015)
  • Prof. Anne L’Huillier, Faculty of Engineering, LTH in Lund, Sweden (2014)
  • Dr. Alessandra Gatti, Institute of Photonics and Nanotechnologies [IFN-CNR], Como, Italy (2014)

  • Prof. Nynke Dekker, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands (2013)
  • Dr. Rumiana Dimova, MPI Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam, Germany (2013)

The EPS Emmy Noether Distinction for Women in Physics is awarded twice a year. The selection committee, appointed by the EPS Equal Opportunities Committee, will consider nominations for female scientists working in Europe.

To make a nomination, please email the following information to the EPS Secretariat:

  • A cover letter, detailing (in no more than 3 paragraphs) the motivation for awarding the Emmy Noether distinction to the nominee;
  • The nominee’s name, institution and email;
  • The nominee’s résumé;
  • The nominator’s name, institution, and email.

    Download the distinction charter.
    Read more about the Emmy Noether distinction on the EPS website.

    Tags:  call  distinction  Emmy Noether DIstinction  EOC  Equal Opportunities Committee 

    Share |
    Permalink | Comments (0)
    Community Search
    Sign In
    Sign In securely