Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join EPS
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (226) posts »

Call for EPS Prizes and Distinctions 2016 - deadline 31 January

Posted By Administration, 28 January 2016
Updated: 28 January 2016

EPS Fellows

EPS Members are invited to nominate EPS Individual Members as EPS Fellows. Individuals whose achievements in physics, whether in research, industry or education and/or through commitment to the EPS warrant specific recognition are eligible to become EPS Fellows. Nominations should be sent to EPS Secretary General, David Lee, by 31 January 2016.

More information about EPS Fellows, including the list of current EPS Fellows and the rules for nomination, is available on the EPS website.

EPS Honorary Members

EPS Members are invited to nominate outstanding individuals as Honorary Members of the EPS.
Distinguished persons whose outstanding achievements in physics or a related science whom the European Physical Society especially desires to honour can be elected EPS Honorary Members. In addition, distinguished individuals whom the EPS may desire to honour for exceptional service to the Society in furtherance of its aims and objectives shall also be eligible to become Honorary Members.

Nominations should be made no later than 31 January 2016 to EPS Secretary General, David Lee.
More information, including the list of current EPS Honorary Members and the rules for nomination, is available on the EPS website.

Gero Thomas medal

The Gero Thomas Commemorative Medal was created in 2000 to honour the memory of G. Thomas, who was the Secretary General of the EPS from 1973 to 1997 and played an essential role in the growth and the development of the Society. The Commemorative Medal is awarded to individuals for their outstanding service to the Society.  More information about the award, and a list of recipients can be found here: 

EPS Members (Member Societies, Individual Members, and Associate members) are invited to make nominations for the 2016 Gero Thomas Commemorative Medal. 

The deadline is 31 January 2016.  

Please note that The Medal may not be awarded to any person currently member or having been member of the Executive Committee in the past three years.  To complete the nomination, the nominator is asked to provide the following documents:
(i) The references of the nominee (Name, first name, full postal address, email address, phone and fax numbers)

(ii) A description of the services of the individual to the Society (maximum & A4 page)
(iii) A suggested citation (maximum 250 words)
(iv) Nominee’s academic and professional background, and professional honors
(v) Three supporters statements  All proposals will be treated in confidence. Although they will be acknowledged there will be no further communication.

Nominations should be sent to the attention of the G. Thomas Prize Selection Committee  by email to Sylvie Loskill (); or by surface mail to

EPS Secretariat
6, rue des Frères Lumière
68200 Mulhouse

Tags:  award  call  EPS Fellows  EPS Honorary Members  Gero Thomas 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)
Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely